top of page

Camp Two Dogs born at Sacred Stone

How I ended up at Standing Rock as a Water Protector is a story in itself.... Thanksgiving Day 2016 I was packing the car ready to go, as a former 68W in the US Army the video of the water protectors being harmed on that fateful water canon night of November 20th was about to change the rest of my life. “Hell NO, not on my watch, these are my fellow American citizens being terrorized by an oil company” Off in the car packed with thousands of dollars in medical supplies Puma and I would head to North Dakota.

After the Veterans Stand came the blizzard, Puma and I would come home to get my other dog Jasmine who was in dog boarding, more winter gear and back to Standing Rock more prepared for the winter elements. Our second time we started at Rosebud camp but because of the snow and my car getting stuck in that dip we made our way to Eagles Nest area in Sacred Stone. We spent about 7-8 weeks till the end at Standing Rock.

A book is forthcoming, hopefully this winter I can start writing. In a nutshell, when Sacred Stone was the last camp evicted by the BIA I returned home to Colorado. Feelings of anger, confusion, disappointment and frustration I could never resume life as usual. The dogs hated being home back in their small fenced yard. I was counting gallons of water even though I did not have to. FINE!! sold the house to invest what little equity was there to start a new camp, one just like Sacred Stone. So when the pipeline breaks and it will break, there is a place to come where the Creator, thru nature can provide everything we need.

This page is the story how my life would change, how to unplug from all that is wrong, decolonize my own life first. Simple living, high thinking to help educate others it can be done. Over a two year period in the making. Funds are short, just two dogs and I, my disability does not help one bit! but if I can do it, I know it can be done and anybody can do it with enough passion and faith in Sri Krsna Tunkashala.

MNI WICONI

bottom of page